What does Orthodox Christianity say about music


Internal diversity of Orthodox churches

The Orthodox Churches are also called "Eastern Churches" after their origins in the Eastern Roman Empire, but have long since ceased to be limited to an "East" determined from Rome. The presence of Orthodox Christians in Switzerland cannot be understood without reference to global orthodoxy. The Eastern Churches are divided into four different church families:

1) Eastern Orthodox Churches (Byzantine Tradition), which recognize seven ecumenical councils (325 to 787);
2) The East Syrian Churchwhich recognizes two ecumenical councils (325 and 381);
3) Ancient Oriental Orthodox Churchesrecognizing three ecumenical councils (325 to 431);
4) Eastern Churches in Communion ("uniert") with Rome or Eastern Catholic Churches, which emerged in the course of the second Christian millennium when groups of believers from the Eastern Churches joined the Catholic Church.

There is no eucharistic church fellowship between these four church families. The first three church families have no church fellowship with the Catholic Church.

The first group includes 16 autocephalous (independent) churches: the Patriarchates of Constantinople; Alexandria; Antioch; Jerusalem; Moscow; Serbia; Romania; Bulgaria; Georgia; the Orthodox Churches of Cyprus; Greece; Albania; Poland; Czech Republic and Slovakia; Finland and Estonia. Although these churches are independent of one another, they profess the same faith and are in eucharistic church fellowship with one another. They see themselves as the one Orthodox Church, as the Church founded by Jesus Christ, which unadulterated the truth of faith revealed to the apostles. "Orthodoxy" literally means "right praise". According to the orthodox understanding, praise of God is the goal of all creation. All people are called to participate in the life of God (theosis, deification). This change begins through the Holy Spirit in the real union with Jesus Christ in the Holy Eucharist (Last Supper) and the other sacraments of the Church.

The differences between the Eastern Orthodox Churches are purely cultural. A striking difference is that these churches do not use the same calendar. Since 1923, most Orthodox churches have corrected the Julian calendar and keep the calendar like the churches of the West. A small group (Jerusalem, Russia, Serbia, the monasteries of Mount Athos) continue to adhere to the Julian calendar and celebrate e.g. B. Christmas (December 25th) on January 7th. However, all Orthodox churches celebrate Easter together, for the time being according to the Julian calendar.

The ancient oriental churches include: the Armenian Apostolic Church; the Coptic Orthodox Church (Egypt); the Syrian Orthodox Church of Antioch (Damascus); the Syrian Orthodox Church of India; the Ethiopian Orthodox Church (Ethiopia and Eritrea). An official theological dialogue took place between the Orthodox and the Ancient Near Eastern churches in 1985-1993, which led to the result that both church families profess the same faith in Jesus Christ despite different forms of expression. This represents an important step on the way to the restoration of the Eucharistic church fellowship. Almost all Eastern Churches are ecumenically engaged and participate in various ecumenical organizations.

Orthodox churches in Switzerland

Over the centuries, many Orthodox emigrated to Western Europe, be it for economic or political reasons. Many of them found a new home in Switzerland. Orthodox Christians mostly remain true to their faith tradition even in the diaspora. All Orthodox parishes in Switzerland are subordinate to their "mother churches". They are not recognized under state church law, but live as institutions under private law. In Switzerland, the Orthodox communities were welcomed with ecumenical openness. Many church buildings in Swiss churches were made available to them.

Greek emigrants came to Switzerland as early as the 18th century. The first Greek Orthodox parish was founded in Lausanne, where an Orthodox church was built in 1925. In 1966 the Orthodox Center of the Ecumenical Patriarchate was founded in Chambésy near Geneva, where a modern cathedral was later built. In 1982 the Metropolis of the Ecumenical Patriarchate for Switzerland was founded. The Metropolitan of Switzerland (Metropolitan Jérémie, as of spring 2004) is the highest-ranking representative of Orthodoxy in this country. Today there are Greek Orthodox parishes in almost all major cities in Switzerland. In Chambésy, an Arab Orthodox parish, which is subordinate to the Patriarchate of Antioch, has been meeting for its services for over 30 years.

The first Orthodox parish in Switzerland was founded by the Russian Orthodox Church in Bern in 1816. It was moved to Geneva in 1854, where a church was built in 1866. Another Russian Orthodox Church was built in Vevey in 1878. After the October Revolution in Russia and its political consequences, the Russian Orthodox Church of Geneva was subordinated to the "Russian Orthodox Church in Exile". A Russian Orthodox parish was founded in Zurich in 1936 and another in Geneva in 1946, both of which were subordinate to the Moscow Patriarchate. The monastery of the Holy Trinity in Dompierre and a parish in Payerne remain subordinate to the Moscow Patriarchate.