How do I separate WhatsApp from Facebook

WhatsApp: How to deactivate the connection to Facebook

The data from your WhatsApp account are also available to Facebook for advertising purposes. If you want to prevent the sharing of account information, you have two options. We explain to you which these are and what you have to pay attention to in this context.

If you, as a WhatsApp user, have accepted the terms of use of August 2016, the Messenger app shares account information with Facebook. According to the company, the connection with the social network should "improve your Facebook advertising and product experience". However, this does not affect your end-to-end encrypted chats. You can also cut the bond between WhatsApp and Facebook relatively easily. You can read how it works here.

Method 1: Before agreeing to the Terms of Use

If you have not yet agreed to the current WhatsApp terms of use, proceed as follows: As soon as the app asks you to agree, look for the blue highlighted “read” in the text displayed and tap on it. Alternatively, you can tap on the arrow pointing upwards under the "Agree" button - next to it it says: "Read more about the essential updates to our terms of use and data protection guidelines".

An additional window now opens in which a longer text explains the connection between WhatsApp and Facebook. Next to it is a box with a tick. Tap the box to remove the check mark. Now you can - if you really agree - agree to the basic terms of use and the data protection guideline. In that case, you did not consent to the part relating to the connection between WhatsApp and Facebook.

via GIPHY

Method 2: After agreeing to the terms of use

If you have already agreed to the terms of use, you shouldn't let too much time pass before you revoke Facebook's authorization to view your WhatsApp account. You only have 30 days to do it. So quickly in the WhatsApp settings. You can get there on Android by opening the app, tapping the three dots arranged one below the other in the top right corner and selecting the "Settings" tab. On the iPhone, simply tap on the gear icon in the lower right corner of the chats view. Then search for “Account”, tap on it and remove the check mark from the “Share my account info” menu item.

Summary

  • You can prevent the data transfer between WhatsApp and Facebook.
  • To do this, you have to tap on "read" when querying the terms of use and deactivate the corresponding option.
  • Alternatively, go to "Account" in the WhatsApp settings and deactivate "Share my account information".
  • However, you can only use the latter option 30 days after you have agreed to the terms of use.

Are you bothered by the connection between WhatsApp and Facebook or is the security of the chats just important to you? Are you using a different messenger? Write us your answer in the comments.